South Australia to reopen borders to NSW

New South Wales residents will be allowed into South Australia without mandatory quarantine starting from midnight tomorrow.

SA Premier Steven Marshall announced today the border will open provided there is no community transmission in NSW today.

In the past 24 there were no new coronavirus infections in NSW outside of hotel quarantine from overseas travellers.

Our borders have been the front line of our defence and have served us well. They enabled us to open up our economy and get tens of thousands of people back to work but because of the reduced risk in NSW, it’s time for us to open up our borders.,” Mr Marshall said.

“This will be massive relief for people dislocated from family, friends and business opportunities.

“We know this has been a massive burden on the business community, families and individuals but we did this to keep people safe.”

Those people who are currently in self-isolation after arriving from NSW in the past two weeks will still need to complete their quarantine.

People coming in from NSW will still need to complete paperwork when they arrive.

Yesterday only one case of community transmission was recorded in NSW, a household contact of a previously reported case from Concord Hospital in Sydney’s inner-west.

The new case was already in isolation because of their close contact with the previously infected person.
South Australia’s domestic borders will remain closed to Victoria, but anyone from other states and territories are allowed to enter.

Queensland will also shift its border zone, bringing in five New South Wales local government areas – including Byron and Ballina.

From 1am on October 1, the following shires will be added to the border zone: Byron, Ballina, Lismore, Richmond Valley, and Glen Innes.

Residents will be able to travel to Queensland and Queenslanders can freely travel into those additional NSW areas but will still need to apply for a border pass.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.